Noritz Water Heater Model No. N-063S-1 periodically does not supply hot water

Noritz Water Heater Model No. N-063S-1 periodically does not supply hot water

by Dwain
(Theodore, AL, USA)

The Noritz Water Heater Model No. N-063S-1 periodically will not supply hot water to the faucet. I have to leave the faucet running and pull the Pressure Relief Valve 2 or 3 times and the unit kicks on and supplies hot water. This has been occurring for 3 months and it happens about twice a month. The unit is 4 years old. Please advise if you know what causes this malfunction.

Comments for Noritz Water Heater Model No. N-063S-1 periodically does not supply hot water

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Mar 01, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
REMOTE
by: Anonymous

can anyone tell me what remote to use with this unit ???

Dec 26, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
N-063S-1 remote control panel
by: Anonymous

My Noritz N-063S-1 remote control panel is not lighting up. I can't even read any error messages. I ordered another remote control panel and it doesn't light up either. Kindly, advice me on what to do next. Thanks.


May 30, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Pressure related?
by: Anonymous

I have the same problem, but its happened mostly in the summer, not the winter.

A recent install of a fairly sophisticated water conditioning system (two different filters, a softener, and a sulfur/iron removal tank) has caused the system pressure to drop around 10 psi. The Noritz stops heating when the pressure to the shower drops. I'm not sure if its a coincidence or its related.

I'm going to check the inlet filter tomorrow. I didn't even know the filter existed and I've been using this heater for about 5 years. If that doesn't solve the problem I'm going to look into boosting the pressure at that end of the house somehow.

Feb 17, 2015
Rating
starstarstar
Fourth winter of cutting off during use!
by: Anonymous

Our Noritz unit was great for three years then the unit started cutting off while in use during cold weather. We have done the descaling, did not help. When you're in the shower and it cuts off, if you cut the water off, shower off, then turn the water back on, the unit will refire, once hot, turn the shower back on. This has to be done up to eight times during a shower. At times the unit will not fire and we have to unplug and plug it back in, we have noticed the light on the unit is flashing three times, then pausing and three more flashes. When it cuts off and will refire it is flashing, but in no sequence. We spoke with customer service and followed their recommendations. This problem only occurs during cold weather.

Nov 18, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
N-063S-1 Has Remote but stops working
by: Anonymous

My Noritz Heater, even with wired remote, stops working regularly after about 15 mins running. I've flushed it, taken it apart & cleaned the flues, etc. but to no avail. Restarting it means pushing the remotes button once to stop it flashing and then again to start it and the Gas fired boiler again. Tired of this !

Mar 15, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Descale Tankless Water Heater
by: Anonymous

This is what I did, did it myself.
I re plumbed the inlet and outlet with a 1/2" Tee on each one. I already had cutoff valves which I would install if not already there.

I took a Gallon of CLR and put in my Wife's mop bucket (approx. 2.5 gal capacity) I plumbed a sump pump to fit the inlet Tee and plumbed the outlet Tee for a return back to the mop bucket. Turn off both valves on your heater, turn off power to heater, turn on sump pump and circulate CLR through the heater, I did it for 30 minutes.
Then I poured the CLR back into original container for later use, filled the bucket with fresh water and flushed the heater twice.

Jan 26, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Descaling the Noritz unit
by: Anonymous

How do you descale these units?

Jan 22, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cold weather
by: Bob

System went off twice today. Outside temp. Is 19 degrees. Seems the incoming water temp. Is too low to raise to the set temp. I have reset the system by turning off then on. Can this be controlled better? The system is clean of scale and debris.

Jan 17, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Re: post dated Jan 05, 2012
by: Anonymous

I posted here Jan 05, 2012.
Probably in March of 2012, I installed the wired remote control for this unit. It almost totally fixed the problem. Unit would only have loss of hot water once or twice per week. We later raised the pre-set temperature to 130 deg. Unit has not lost hot water function in months.
Unit was about $100 and I installed it myself easily.

Jan 10, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Maintenance is key
by: Anonymous

Try cleaning the blower moter of all lint and dirt as well as descaling the unit annually. These two things make mine run like new.

Jan 05, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Frequent loss of hot water N-063S-1s
by: Anonymous

I have the same Noritz Model N-063S-1 and same problem but, more frequent.

My water heater is getting worse everyday. It is 4-1/2 years old. It now fails 3-6 times each day, hot water will cease while in use.

If you turn off the water and cut power by switching the breaker off then on, it will usually correct itself. Most times you can tell when it fails because water supply from the facet in use, will drop pressure by estimated 15-20psi.

I have checked the small filter on the unit, checked water pressure supply, checked LPG pressure supply and did the 45 minute flush with CLR as one blog recommended. I know my wife is getting pretty PO'd from switching the breaker, especially when in the middle of a hot shower!Guess I'm gonna take the cover off next and see if anything looks suspicious??

Jan 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Inconsistent Hot Water from Noritz N-063S-1
by: Paul

Try cleaning the incoming filter.
It is a small(1/2" Diameter x 3/4" long) plastic ended mesh tube like filter located on the incoming water line just before it enters the box.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Noritz Water Heater Review .

water heaters